Learn about MSBSD Preschool

Preschool Interest Process

  • Fall registration will open July 1, 2024. Complete registration in Parentvue 

    Please review the Preschool Eligibility Requirement section below.

    If your student is eligible, proceed with registration, choosing your preferred school location when prompted for School Selection.

    • The school will verify and place you on the preschool roster. If the roster is full, the registrar will contact you with options.
    • AM/PM placement is first come/first served" based on date/time of registration.
    • Teachers will contact parents in August and place students.
    • Sites are either--10:1 with one Certified Preschool teacher OR 20:2 ratio, which includes a Certified Preschool teacher and an aide.
    • Each session is 2.5 hours a day.
    • Transportation is the responsibility of the parent/guardian 

    If your student does not meet the Federal Programs qualifications listed above or your family is looking for other options, we proudly partner with Chugiak Children Services, Head Start program. You can find out if you qualify and get more information here

    If you have taken your student to CHILDFIND and they have qualified, proceed with registration, but please select the A Child Find when prompted for School Selection.  

Preschool Eligibility:

  • Children must be 4 years old on or before September 1, 2024

    Children must be potty-trained

    Title I, Migrant Education, & Title VI Indian Education support the Federal Programs preschools. Students must be eligible for one of these programs.

    • Title I – must live within the physical boundary of a designated Title I school.
    • Migrant Education (Title I-C) – currently enrolled in the Migrant Education Program through the Federal Programs Office.
    • Title VI (Indian Education) – enrolled member or descendant of an enrolled member of a recognized tribe or tribal group. Documentation is required.

PRESCHOOL

LOCATIONS

  • Big Lake Elementary

    Butte Elementary

    Cottonwood Creek Elementary

    Dena'ina Elementary

    Finger Lake Elementary

    Goose Bay Elementary

    John Shaw Elementary

    Iditarod Elementary

    Palmer High School

    Sutton Elementary

    Swanson Elementary

    Talkeetna Elementary

    Willow Elementary

Preschool Teaching Staff

  • Karen Don
    Preschool Teacher, Palmer High School
    Karen.Don@matsuk12.us
    907.746.8400
    TBD 
    Preschool Teacher, Finger Lake Elementary
    Jeanie Lombard
    Preschool Teacher, Butte Elementary
    jeanie.Lombard@matsuk12.us
    907.861.5200
    Andrew Mickelson
    Preschool Teacher, Big Lake Elementary
    Andrew.Mickelson@matsuk12.us
    907.892.9700
    Jenny Nash
    Preschool Teacher, Iditarod Elementary
    Jennifer.Nash@matsuk12.us
    907.352.9100
    Sarah Russell
    Preschool Teacher, Shaw Elementary
    Sarah.Russell@matsuk12.us
    907.352.0500
    Ashley Diumenti
    Preschool Teacher, Shaw Elementary
    ashley.diumenti@matsuk12.us
    907.352-0500
    Christina Wieland
    Preschool Teacher, Dena'ina Elementary
    christina.wieland@matsuk12.us
    907.864.5600
    Frances Thompson
    Preschool Teacher, Talkeetna Elementary
    Frances.Thompson@matsuk12.us
    907.495.9300
    Cassandra Padgett
    Preschool Teacher, Willow Elementary
    Cassandra.Padgett@matsuk12.us
    907.495-9300
    Azur-de Marshall
    Preschool Teacher, Cottonwood Creek
    Azurde.Marshall@matsuk12.us
    907.864-2100
    Heidi Johnson
    Preschool Teacher, Sutton Elementary
    heidi.johnson@matsuk12.us
    907.861.5600
    Tierra Colegrove
    Preschool Teacher, Goose Bay Elementary
    tierra.colegrove@matsuk12.us
    907.352.6400
    Michaela Wellman
    Preschool Teacher, Swanson Elementary
    michaela.wellman@matsuk12.us
    907.861.5300

Last Modified on Thursday at 10:19 AM