•  

    ProgramsFederal Programs

    HOURS:  Mon-Fri 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM  |  MAIN PHONE:  907.746.9236  |  FAX:  907.746.9290    BuildingMap

Migrant Education (MEP)

  • The Matanuska-Susitna Borough School District Migrant Education Program (MEP) provides services and resources for students and their families through the support of a federal grant. The MEP's goal is to ensure that all migrant students reach challenging academic standards and graduate with a high school diploma (or complete a GED) that prepares them for responsible citizenship, further learning, and productive employment.

     

     

     

    LIKE US ON FACEBOOK FOR THE QUICKEST WAY TO GET CURRENT INFORMATION ON MIGRANT EVENTS 

Eligibility

  • IS THIS YOU?
    Your family depends on subsistence activities to feed your family, and...
     
    Your child(ren) has, in the past 3 years, participated in seasonal subsistence fishing, commercial fishing and/or berry picking and brought the food home (dates must fall within a one year period);
     
    AND the activities were at least 20 miles away from your primary residence for 7 overnights or more (does not need to be consecutive);
     
    OR your child(ren) traveled with you while you were logging and/or farming outside of the Mat-Su Borough School District (MSBSD) for 7 overnights or more (does not need to be consecutive).
     
    Eligible youth must be under 20 years old but are not required to be registered in a school. Therefore, preschoolers, homeschoolers, and out of school youth are also eligible if they have not graduated.
     
     
    If the answer is yes, your child(ren) may qualify for Migrant Education Services.  All activities must meet economic necessity for program qualification.  Please complete the Parent Request Form below.
     
    Parent Request Form

MIGRANT COMMUNICATION

For More Information Contact:

Migrant Education Teachers

  • David Adams
    Migrant/Indian Ed Programs Graduation Coach, PHS
    David.Adams@matsuk12.us
    907.746.8400
    Sherri Bauer
    Migrant Ed Program, Before/After School, PPE
    Sherri.Bauer@matsuk12.us
    907.861.5728
    Joseph Bentel
    Migrant/Indian Ed Programs Core Teacher, English, WHS
    Joseph.Bentel@matsuk12.us
    907.352.8299
    Denise Biornstad
    Migrant Ed Program Tutor Advisor, RJS
    Denise.Biornstad@matsuk12.us
    907.232.8474
    Jennifer Bleicher
    Migrant Ed Program, Before/After School, CWE
    Jennifer.Bleicher@matsuk12.us
    907.864.2125
    Ronald Bowlan
    Migrant Ed Program, Before/After School, DNE
    Ronald.Bowlan@matsuk12.us
    907.864.5633
    Kathryn Boman
    Migrant Ed Program, Before/After School, IDE
    Kathryn.Boman@matsuk12.us
    907.352.9100
    Janice Carrington
    Migrant/Indian Ed/Title I Programs, Preschool Asst, PHS
    Janice.Carrington@matsuk12.us
    907.746.8405
    Deborah Champion
    Migrant Ed Program Tutor Advisor, WMS
    Deborah.Champion@matsuk12.us
    907.352.5300
    Cristina Cirian
    Migrant/Indian Ed/Title I Programs Preschool Asst, IDE
    Cristina.Cirian@matsuk12.us
    907.352.9100
    Lacy Cochrane
    Migrant Ed Program, Before/After School, LRE
    Lacy.Cochrane@matsuk12.us
    907.352.2313
    David Corneliussen
    Migrant Ed Program, Before/After School, JSE
    David.Corneliussen@matsuk12.us
    907.352.0542
    Crystal Daniels
    Migrant/Indian Ed Programs Core Teacher, Math, RJS
    Crystal.Daniels@matsuk12.us
    907.864.5470
    Karen Don
    Migrant/Indian Ed/Title I Programs Preschool Teacher, PHS
    Karen.Don@matsuk12.us
    907.746.8405
    Cecil Ellsworth
    Migrant/Indian Ed Programs Graduation Coach, HJS/RJS
    Cecil.Ellsworth@matsuk12.us
    907.864.5400
    Lara Fahnlander
    Migrant/Indian Ed/Title I Programs Preschool Teacher, MLE
    Lara.Fahnlander@matsuk12.us
    907.352.6123
    Marcy Farris
    Migrant Ed Program, Before/After School, FLE
    Marcy.Farris@matsuk12.us
    907.864.2200
    Rachael Gerard
    Migrant/Indian Ed/Title I Programs Preschool Teacher, FLE
    Rachael.Gerard@matsuk12.us
    907.864.2200
    Tyler Glaser
    Migrant Ed Program, Before/After School, PPE
    tyler.Glaser@matsuk12.us
    907.861.5700
    Monica Gurry
    Migrant/Indian Ed/Title I Programs Preschool Asst, FLE
    Monica.Gurry@matsuk12.us
    907.864.2221
    Jake Hansen
    Migrant/Indian Ed Programs Core Teacher, Math & Social Studies, WHS
    Jake.Hansen@matsuk12.us
    907.861.5551
    Kevin Hartman
    Migrant Ed Program, Before/After School, IDE
    Kevin.Hartman@matsuk12.us
    907.352.9100
    Vicki Hewitt
    Migrant/Indian Ed Programs Graduation Coach, WHS
    Vicki.Hewitt@matsuk12.us
    907.352.8297
    Kandis Hinchberger
    Migrant/Indian Ed/Title I Programs Preschool Asst, JSE
    Kandis.Hinchberger@matsuk12.us
    907.352.0527
    Kay Huxford
    Migrant/Indian Ed Programs Coordinator
    Kay.Huxford@matsuk12.us
    907.761.4037

  •  
    MSBSD Tagline
Last Modified on September 14, 2020