•  

    ProgramsFederal Programs

    HOURS:  Mon-Fri 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM  |  MAIN PHONE:  907.746.9236  |  FAX:  907.746.9290    BuildingMap

English Learner Program (EL)

  • The Matanuska-Susitna Borough School District’s English Learner program is designed to support schools in delivering equal education opportunities for students who speak a language or languages other than English, or who have a language other than English in their home.  The program’s goal is to assist students to attain English proficiency and succeed academically.  We recognize that students’ language, heritage, and culture all contribute to student learning and are committed to reducing barriers so that all MSBSD students can fully engage in district programs and services while preparing for academic success.

For more information please contact:

EL Support Teacher/Case Managers

  • Jane Bell
    American Charter, Birchtree Charter, Burchell High, Career Tech High, Mat-Su Central, Mat-Su Day School, Midnight Sun Charter, Palmer High, Valley Pathways
    Jane.Bell@matsuk12.us
    907.746.8488
    Frances Christensen
    Big Lake Elementary, Meadow Lakes Elementary, Su Valley Jr/Sr High, Talkeetna Elementary, Trapper Creek Elementary, Willow Elementary
    Frances.Christensen@matsuk12.us
    907.352-6151
    Olga Fontaine
    Beryozova, Cottonwood Creek Elementary, Tanaina, Twindly Bridge
    Olga.Fontaine@matsuk12.us
    907.352.9454
    Randy Hughes
    Houston Jr./Sr. High
    Randy.Hughes@matsuk12.us
    907.892.9536
    Kay Huxford
    Wasilla High School, Wasilla Middle School
    Kay.Huxford@matsuk12.us
    907.352.5359
    Valeria Kopsack
    Academy Charter, Butte Elementary, Pioneer Peak Elementary, Sherrod Elementary, Sutton Elementary, Swanson Elementary
    Valeria.Kopsack@matsuk12.us
    907.861.5323
    Michelle Krzypkowski
    Colony High, Colony Middle, Teeland Middle
    Michelle.Krzypkowski@matsuk12.us
    907.352.7565
    Joy Owens
    Finger Lake Elementary, Larson Elementary, Palmer Jr. Middle, Shaw Elementary
    Joy.Owens@matsuk12.us
    907.352.0556
    Rita Schexnayder
    Fronteras Charter, Redington Jr/Sr High
    Rita.Schexnayder@matsuk12.us
    907.864.5400
    Ginny Schmalix
    Dena'ina Elementary, Iditarod Elementary
    Ginny.Schmalix@matsuk12.us
    907.352.9116
    Jill Showman
    Goose Bay Elementary, Knik Elementary, Machetanz Elementary, Snowshoe Elementary
    Jill.Showman@matsuk12.us
    907.352.0318

  •  
    MSBSD Tagline
Last Modified on October 1, 2019